Stay.

I read the most beautiful post today,”The Mom Stays in the Picture”, by Allison Tate.  The first time I read it, it made me cry.  Oh, and the second time I read it, I cried again.  Tate comments on the importance of getting in the picture with our children.  In this digital age, we are always taking pictures of our children, but so many of us are not getting into the picture.  Why?  She talks about how so many of us are so critical of our appearances that we would rather just take the pictures and avoid being any of them.

Tate wants us to shake the habit of avoiding the camera, and get in the picture.  It was hard for me to choose my favorite part of this article, because, honestly, I loved every sentence, but if I have to choose one that sums it up for me is this one:

“I’m everywhere in their young lives, and yet I have very few pictures of me with them. Someday I won’t be here — and I don’t know if that someday is tomorrow or thirty or forty or fifty years from now — but I want them to have pictures of me. I want them to see the way I looked at them, see how much I loved them. I am not perfect to look at and I am not perfect to love, but I am perfectly their mother.”

Life is short.  Fragile.  Unexpected.  Unpredictable.  I want my children to remember me.  All of me.  And, if one day a picture is the only thing they have to make that connection, then I want to make sure it is something that I leave behind for them.  Memories captured in a photograph.  One moment in time held in a 4×6 snapshot.  These moments are the reason that I get in pictures to begin with.   Memories, my friends.   I think Allison Tate captured this sentiment so beautifully, and I am so thankful that I read this today.  If you have two minutes, you should read it too.  And, disclaimer, you just might cry too.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/allison-tate/mom-pictures-with-kids_b_1926073.html?utm_hp_ref=parents&ir=Parents&ncid=edlinkusaolp00000009

2 thoughts on “Stay.

Leave a Reply

